My First Blog Post

Well, here is my 1st post and I thought I would coincide it with my 1st wearable item that I have sewn myself! I got a sewing machine for Christmas and have been playing with it as much as I can (which isn’t too much as my other love is beading – more about that another day). I have made little simple things such as carrier bag dispensers, cos they involve sewing in a straight line and that’s about it – Oh and FAB bag too  – I MUST show you this one day 🙂

Anyway, I transposed the pattern for this skirt from a book onto freezer paper 😉 and made the skirt from there. It involved adjusting at the waist, inserting a zipper and a waistband (none of which I had attempted before) so I was nervous and apprehensive and therefore thought I would use some cheaper material – a muslin if you like!

So, the picture,

20120527-184038.jpg

 

This material I got from a charity shop. It was a bed sheet and I paid £2 for 2 of them. I used half of one so in effect the material cost just 50p. I thought that was a bargain.

It’s not perfect by far but it’s totally wearable and I think it looks fabulous on.

Till the next time blogland

Faye x

 

6 thoughts on “My First Blog Post

  1. Awesome blog post, Faye and I am so happy you liked my name for it!! Yayyy! That’s an amazing sewing job, fabulous!!

  2. Wow! Looks great! It’s been years since I did any proper sewing – I would love to dust off my Grandma’s sewing machine and make some more clothes… but it needs servicing, and beading gets in the way! I hope you wear this skirt with pride – cos it looks great on you!

  3. Well done Faye, I think you have done a great job with your skirt and written a good blog will be following you to see how you get on with future blogging 🙂

  4. I’m stunned that this is your first sewing attempt! I’ve been sewing for a while now but still haven’t gotten up the nerve to try something with a zipper! It looks wonderful… and I LOVE that it is a repurposed sheet, bought at a charity shop no less!

  5. Hey Faye! (Waves!)
    Welcome to WordPress and blogging and sewing… wow, you are busy!

    I’m still quite new to WordPress too and finding my way around bit by bit! You have got the hang of it, it seems! And that skirt! It is gorgeous! And as Karen says, I love that it has been upcycled in such a beautiful way!

    Keep on sewing hon! You are hitting the ground running with that project!

    Tracey xxx

Leave a Reply

