Izzy bead project

A little while back I bought an amazing cabochon from Izzy Beads on Ebay. I adored the colours in it and knew it needed something special. Greys, whites, blues, metallic greys! At first I thought it wanted to be a bracelet – but that didn’t work………Then I learnt CRAW (Cubic Right Angle Weave) from this amazing video by Heather Collin. I loved this stitch so much, it is so versatile. ‘I know’ I thought – And out came my Izzy Beads Cab! It needed to be wrapped in CRAW! And so to work I got. It took forever – if you can do CRAW – in size 11/0 seeds – you will feel my pain – but it was totally necessary!

The design kinda evolved from a basic pattern I had in my mind!When the design was complete there was FAR too much thread on show (as you beaders will know well with this stitch) so through my stash I went and I knew exactly what I was looking for. Some Matte Haematite I picked up at the Essex Bead Show! I LOVE LOVE this stuff and it was perfect for the embellishment!

This is the design when worn – As you can see, it is quite rigid and stiff round one side and is quite structural which allows it to sit so well over the neckline!

I really hope you love it as much as I do!

20120827-191438.jpg

And a closer look at the necklace flat.

20120827-191445.jpg

And another shot of the beautiful Izzy Beads Cab. It is so 3 dimensional – just stunning!

20120827-191453.jpg

;

I was considering entering it for the Bead comp but just couldn’t wait to show it off so that put pay to that idea!

Till next time šŸ™‚
Faye x

Leave a Reply

